May 11, 2013

  • Katie’s Kisses

    I started reading this girl’s blog (http://www.kissesfromkatie.blogspot.com) , and what she said just hit home so many times I began to think we were soul sisters somewhere along the way. Then I found out all she was doing, and I felt so humbled and like “Man, no way am I catching up to her!” And then I finally read her book—and found it in Portuguese, so bought that as well. It takes a lot before I will buy a book. She has been a blessing to me spiritually, and God has used her words in my life. So, I pass it on to you. I sware, these are the words I wish I’d said first:

    “People who really want to make a difference in the world usually do it, in one way or another.” –Beth Clark

    “God reminded me again that l have one purpose, in Uganda and in life, and that is to love. I could ask for no greater assignment.”

    “The contradiction comes when I realize that all these experiences and emotions were real. The happiness that gave me chill bumps was as deep as my loneliness. My sense of certainty about being exactly where God wanted me was solid, but just as firm was the fact that I wondered at times what on earth I was doing here. The frustration that threatened to overtake me on some occasions was just as deep and true as the unbounded joy I felt at other times. I loved my new life; I truly loved it. But compared to the life I had been living, it was hard.”

    “I have learned that something happens when one makes herself available to God: He starts moving in ways no one could imagine.”

    “I didn’t want to simply care for these people, I wanted to advocate for them. I wanted to raise more awareness for these voiceless, unseen children. I wanted people who were warm in their down-comforters to know that there were other children out there, all alone. I wanted to tell their story.”

    “Adoption is a beautiful picture of redemption. It is the Gospel in my living room. And sometimes, it’s just hard. Adoption is a redemptive response to tragedy that happens in this broken world. My family, adopting these children, it is not optional. It is not my good deed for the day, it is not what I am doing to “help out those poor kids.” I adopt because God commands me to care for the orphans and the widows in their distress. I adopt because Jesus says that to whom much has been given, much will be demanded. Most days, that doesn’t include anything other people would find impressive. It simply means being faithful to the people and responsibilities God has given me.”

    “I don’t believe it is possible to tell a child about the love of Christ without simultaneously showing her that love by feeding her, clothing her, inviting her in.”

    “And when there’s nothing left, and we feel we’re all in pieces, God begins to make us whole. He makes us real… The more I love, the more love I have to give.”

    (When visiting the USA) “I have stepped out of my reliance on God to meet my needs. I “miss” Jesus. He hasn’t disappeared, of course, but I feel so far from him because my life is actually functioning without Him…I found it strange when people looked doubtfully at me when I said “God will provide.” I knew He would; I’d seen Him do it. I wasn’t naïve; I was simply dependent on a God who loved my children and employees more than I did…I’m not running a business, so I can’t just ‘make some cuts.’ I’m sure everyone who suggested I lighten my load meant well, but I sometimes wonder what they would have said had I recommended that THEY simply discard one of THEIR children. All I had to do was look at what happened the previous year. Had God ever failed to provide exactly what was needed? No. Why, then would I ever believe He would fail to provide now, even though I was living in America?”

    “I have come to the realization that I am somewhat of a nomad on this earth. I am learning to be okay with that. Human beings long for a place to call home. I have many and none. My heart lives in so many places. With so many people. But God whispers to me that I really have only one home, and that is with Him. I will never be content on this earth. I will always be a nomad. It was meant to be that way. And I will continue bouncing from one home to another, loing with everything I have in whatever location I currently reside, excitedly awaiting the day when I am called heavenward and He says to me, “Welcome home.”

    “My five year old knows how to be Jesus’ hands to others. I can stand and watch the children I have loved and cared for turn around and compassionately love and care for others. My girls have come to believe that taking strangers, sick people, and outcasts is normal.”  (I desperately need this to be true of my life always)

    “This has taught me one of the greatest lessons: the tension between inefficiency and faithfulness. The assurance that I must obey and be faithful only to what He has asked of me, even when tangible, earthly results or successes are not seen. I want to help them all, fix all their problems, and successfully find a solution to their horrendous living conditions. But often in an unideal situation, there is not an ideal solution this side of heaven. The projects started in this community are wonderful, but they meet the needs of only some people; they only scratch the surface of the problems. God assures me this is ok.”

    “I was angry because I believed, and still believe, that the God who created the universe did not create too many children in His image and not enough love to go around. And I wanted to do more. I wanted to help them all. God whispered that one is enough. Because every time I stop for that one sick child, that one hungry old man, that one new baby girl, my mind races with the statistics of how many more I am not touching, not feeding, not saving. God whispers every time, though, that this one is enough. It is enough that this one is feeling His love and that love is eternal. Eternal. This is what I mean when I say I do it for Jesus. He loved me first; I love Him back. And sometimes it hurts.

    I believe there is only one truly courageous thing we can do with our lives: to love unconditionally. Absolutely, with all of ourselves, so much that it hurts and then more.”

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *